A Mother’s Secret - Tess Stimson

A Mother’s Secret

By Tess Stimson

  • Release Date: 2019-04-18
  • Genre: Mysteries & Thrillers
Score: 4.5
4.5
From 196 Ratings

Description

‘Dark. Twisty. Addictive. I couldn’t put it down’ LISA JEWELL

She loves her family. She’d never let anything happen to them . . . Would she?

On the outside, Maddie is a happy young mother with a new baby. But on the inside, she’s afraid.

Afraid that her marriage to Lucas isn’t what she thought.

Afraid that she’s having mysterious blackouts where her memories should be.

But how can she ask for help when something terrible is done to her family?

Who can she turn to, who can she trust?

And how does she know it wasn’t her?

Full of twists and turns, this is perfect for fans of I Invited Her In and The Mother-in-Law.

‘More chilling than Gone Girl and twistier than The Girl on the Train, this emotional, raw, dark family drama keeps you guessing until the end’ JANE GREEN, author of The Friends We Keep

‘Truly gripping: the opening is heart-breaking and it never lets up, all the way to a genuinely shocking denouement’ ALEX LAKE, author of Seven Days

Join the readers already obsessed with A Mother’s Secret:

‘A cross between Jodi Picoult and Gillian Flynn’ Netgalley Reviewer

‘An edge-of-your-seat-wondering-what-is-going-on great thriller!’ Netgalley Reviewer

‘Engrossing, thrilling, never guess the ending’ Netgalley Reviewer

‘Would I recommend it? . . . Oh yes, 100%’ Netgalley Reviewer

‘A gripping, intelligent plot; realistic and well-drawn characters; a difficult subject tackled extremely well’ Netgalley Reviewer

‘Wow, what a great read! Very well written, it goes between past and present of the characters but this flows so easy throughout the book, lots of twists to keep you page turning! A must read for all psychological thriller fans!’ Netgalley Reviewer

‘WOW! I could not put this down. The writing is superb. There was nothing I didn't enjoy’ Netgalley Reviewer

Reviews

Praise for A Mother’s Secret:

‘Dark, twisty and addictive. I couldn't put it down’ LISA JEWELL

‘More chilling than Gone Girl and twistier than The Girl on the Train, this emotional, raw, dark family drama keeps you guessing until the end’ JANE GREEN

‘Truly gripping: the opening is heart-breaking and it never lets up, all the way to a genuinely shocking denouement’ ALEX LAKE

‘This is such a gripping, fast-paced book. I just couldn’t put it down and read it, all 404 pages, within a day! Fantastic!’ Short Book and Scribes

About the author

Tess Stimson is the British author of ten novels, including top-ten bestseller The Adultery Club, and two non-fiction books, which between them have been translated into dozens of languages.

Her first "proper" job after graduating from St Hilda's College, Oxford (where she read English) was as a news trainee with ITN (Independent Television News). She reported and produced regional and world stories, travelling to hotspots and war-zones all over the globe.

In 2002, she was appointed Professor of Creative Writing at the University of South Florida and moved to the US. She now lives and works in Vermont with her husband, Erik, their three children, and (at the last count) two cats, three fish, one gerbil and a large number of bats in the attic.

Reviews

  • A mother’s secret

    5
    By Tallulah 10
    Beautifully written for such darkness. I felt the emotions and such desperation as I lived life along with characters Lydia and Maddie- wondering where along the way they would connect. At no time, was any surprise expected or prepared for. BRAVO!